Christina Cole Romance

Discover the power of love

Clothes Make the Man…or Woman

Leave a comment

poloniusFor the apparel oft proclaims the man.

–William Shakespeare, Hamlet 

 

When Polonius gives out advice in Hamlet, much of it should probably be taken with the proverbial grain of salt. Polonius was a bit of a blow-hard, a fellow who loved the sound of his own voice.

His immortal words have been transformed into the more modern adage that “clothes make the man,” to which Mark Twain once added, “Naked people have little or no influence on society.”

I’m not sure about that, but all of that’s a bit beside the point. The real question for today isn’t about the influence we wield but simply about the clothes we wear. More to the point, the clothes we love.

Often on Facebook, question games go around. Example: The last thing you ate plus the color you’re now wearing gives you your rock band name.  I usually end up with Plaid nachos. Hey, it’s kinda catchy, don’t you think?

If clothes really do make us who we are, I’m a comfortable, casual homebody. I love wearing baggy old T-shirts and flannel PJ bottoms. Yes, that’s me. It’s exactly who I am.

Today’s question from my little “Q & A A Day” book is this:

What’s your favorite article of clothing?

PJSI’d have to say my comfy, cozy plaid flannel PJ bottoms.  Years ago I bought one set (the ones on the left) and I loved them so much, I ordered a second set (the ones on the right.) I found them in the Lakeside Collection catalog, and would gladly order more if they had different colors.

I also like my Mickey Mouse T-shirt, my worn-out old sneakers, and, when the weather turns cool, an old sweatshirt that once boasted of the glories of Missouri but whose colors are now so worn you can’t read much of anything.

Obviously, to me, comfort is far more important than fashion.

 

 

What’s YOUR favorite article of clothing?

What do YOUR clothes say about YOU?

 

 

Author: christinacoleromance

Christina Cole believes in the power of love. She writes romance novels with characters you'll care about and remember long after the end of the story.

Leave a Reply

