Christina Cole Romance

Discover the power of love

What’s For Dinner – Still More Frozen Desserts

Leave a comment

Making popsicles and creamsicles has become a very enjoyable summertime hobby for me, and the results have been greatly appreciated by my family.  It’s always a special feeling when grandkids say, “Grandma, these are really great”…and ask for another.

I’ve been concocting new recipes almost every day. I’ve stocked up on “goodies” — ingredients that I might want to use for my frozen desserts — and it’s been a lot of fun to put my imagination to work coming up with new ideas.

But, sometimes, familiar wins out over the unknown.  A few days ago, my “honey bunny” asked if I’d make more of the chocolate fudgesicles we’d had before. Sure. I’m delighted to take kitchen requests from my husband.

Creamy-Fudgesicles-from-ChocolateChocolateandmore-37aSo, yesterday I made fudgesicles. The recipe I use for these chocolate treats isn’t one of my concoctions. I found it online at Chocolate, Chocolate, and More.

 

Creamy Fudgsicles

 

I used both milk and cream for ours. This is definitely the best fudgesicle recipe I’ve come across. The taste will take you right back to childhood.

 

Along with the chocolate treats, I recently made VERY BERRY POPS. Here’s what I put together:

About 1/2 cup fresh blackberries, blended.

1 Tablespoon “all-fruit” raspberry preserves

1 cup vanilla yogurt

1 small container blueberry yogurt

About 1/2 cup “Berry Blend” fruit juice

1 tablespoon light syrup

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Note: Please remember my measurements are never exact. Add more or less of various ingredients until you have the flavor your want and are able to easily pour the contents into your molds. 

Mix ingredients together, pour into molds, and freeze for about 4-6 hours.

pink-divider-no-background-hi

So far, my favorite treat has been PINEAPPLE POPS. I plan to make these again very soon.

1-1/2 cups vanilla yogurt

1/2 cup crushed pineapple

1/2 cup milk or cream

1 tablespoon light syrup

1/2 teaspoon vanilla or pineapple flavoring

Mix, pour, freeze, enjoy!

You could also add in shredded coconut or add a container of pina colada yogurt.

pink-divider-no-background-hi

My husband loves the chocolate treats, my favorites are the creamy desserts, and the grandkids can’t get enough of the “ICY POPS”.

1 ounce gelatin mix

1 cup boiling water

1 cup cold water

1 tablespoon light syrup

1 teaspoon flavoring, if desired

Fresh crushed fruit, if desired

Add gelatin mix to boiling water. Stir until dissolved. Add cold water, and stir in light syrup. Add any fresh crushed fruits and flavoring, if you’re using them. Pour into molds and freeze.

pink-divider-no-background-hi

Now, let your imagination go. Imagine all the fun treats you and your kids can make. My list of goodies now includes:

Kool-Aid and other drink mixes

Instant puddings

Gelatin mixes

Heavy cream

Evaporated milk

Sweetened condensed milk

Nuts

Candy sprinkles

Fruit juices

Jams and jellies

Yogurts

Chocolate chips

Assorted flavorings

Fresh fruits

pink-divider-no-background-hi

I recently came across a recipe for a butter-pecan ice cream dessert to make in the freezer. I’m thinking I might just have to play around with it a bit, adapt it for popsicle molds, and give it a try.

Our freezer now always holds 2 or 3 dozen popsicles — of assorted varieties — waiting to be enjoyed. It’s fun to grab a pop, sit on the porch, and enjoy these lazy, hazy, crazy days of summer.

 

Do you have any popsicle treat recipes to share?

 

 

Author: christinacoleromance

Christina Cole believes in the power of love. She writes romance novels with characters you'll care about and remember long after the end of the story.

Leave a Reply

