Christina Cole Romance

Discover the power of love

Sing Your Song

2 Comments

A few days ago one of my readers from “Christina’s Corner” tagged me in a little Facebook posting game.  I call it the “ABC” game. There were questions for each letter of the alphabet, all the way from “Age” to “Zodiac sign”.

Two of the questions were especially interesting to me.

  • Favorite song?
  • Song sung last?

For me, it was impossible to choose a favorite song.  I listen to many different genres of music, and there again, it would be impossible to choose a favorite.

The Greek philosopher Plato once said,

Music gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, a charm to sadness, gaiety and life to everything. It is the essence of order and lends to all that is good and just and beautiful.

music beauty

 

 

I love sharing music with others, so I’m browsing around a bit and finding a few songs that I especially enjoy.

By the River from Florida Suite – Frederick Delius

Collide – Howie Day

Daybreak from Daphnis et Chloe – Maurice Ravel

Drops of Jupiter – Train

Farewell – Apocalyptica

Killing Moon – Echo and the Bunnymen

No Excuses – Alice in Chains

Nothing Else Matters – Metallica

When I Could Come Home to You – Steve Wariner

Willowbank – Rudy Adrian

Listening to music can stimulate us, soothe us, inspire us. But there’s much more to music than listening, which brings me to the second question.

Song last sung. When I answered the question on Facebook, I’d just come into my writing room, humming a little jingle from a television commercial I’d heard earlier. I do enjoy singing. I sing along with songs on the radio, and during a typical day, I might belt out a line or two as different songs cross my mind.

Singing is important. I’ve heard it said that “a singing heart is a happy heart”, and isn’t that something we all want for ourselves and those we love?

Today, music therapy is recognized as a valuable part of the healing process. It’s now an accepted fact that music can be used to help treat anxiety, depression, and chronic pain. It affects not only our hearts and minds, but also the physical body. Music can help lower blood pressure, cortisol levels, and heart rate.

SeegerIn addition, music is a vital element of social change. Late folk-singer Pete Seeger brought people together in sing-alongs, wanting to “get the world together” through music. “Participation,” he once said, was “what will save the human race.”

Studies suggest that exposure to pro-social lyrics does increase positive thoughts, empathy, and a willingness to help others.

When disaster strikes, musicians often come together. Today, many organizations use the power of music to heal and help. Musicorps seeks to heal disabled vets through teaching music. Rock Against Dystrophy organizes concerts to raise money for the Muscular Dystrophy Association.

Music is not only a part of life, in so many ways, music is life. It’s our heart and soul, it’s our memories, our hopes, our dreams.

It doesn’t matter if you “can’t carry a tune in a bucket”. Sing…sing a song today. Sing from the heart.

sing-from-the-heart1

La, la, la, la, la… I’ll leave you with this little song.

Author: christinacoleromance

Christina Cole believes in the power of love. She writes romance novels with characters you'll care about and remember long after the end of the story.

2 thoughts on “Sing Your Song

  1. Wow I enjoy reading your posts, saved to bookmarks!

Leave a Reply

