Christina Cole Romance

Discover the power of love

What’s for Dinner – More Frozen Treats

Leave a comment

Now that I’ve discovered how much fun it is to make popsicles — and how delicious they taste — I’ve been concocting new varieties every day. Of course, I’ve also been browsing the internet for ideas and inspirations, then taking what I’ve learned and creating new recipes to share with other frozen dessert lovers.

Here are a few treats I’ve recently made.

Note: I don’t usually measure as I’m concocting new recipes. The measurements I’ve listed are “approximate”. Play around a bit, add more or less of ingredients, use what you have, and don’t get too concerned about exact measurements. With frozen treats, as long as you start with good ingredients, the results will be delicious, no matter what you do. 

EASY BANANA POPS

In a blender or food processor, combine 1 ripe banana with 1 cup of vanilla yogurt.  Add a tablespoon or two of light corn syrup, about a half cup of milk, a little tropical fruit juice, if desired, and a bit of vanilla or banana flavoring. Blend together, pour into popsicle molds, and freeze for about 4 hours. Enjoy!

A similar recipe from chef Dave Lieberman can be found online: Creamy Banana Pops.

da0309_pops.jpg.rend.sni12col.landscape

 

CHEERY CHERRY POPS

Combine 1-1/2 cups of cherry yogurt with 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt. Add about 1 cups of milk, 1/3 cup of light syrup, and a teaspoon of cherry or vanilla flavoring. Pour into popsicle molds, freeze, and enjoy.

Note: I would have added a cup of frozen cherries if I’d had them. 

Here, Janelle, another self-confessed “popsicle addict” shares a recipe for her Cherry Vanilla Pops.

Cherry

 

Of course, delicious frozen treats can be made from other ingredients besides the basics of fruit and creamy yogurts. You can also use puddings, gelatin, drink mixes…and more.

PISTACHIO POPS

For my PISTACHIO POPS, I used a 1-ounce box of instant pistachio pudding mix, 2 cups of milk, and a cup of vanilla yogurt. I added in a tablespoon of light syrup, and a teaspoon of mint flavoring. Pour into molds and freeze.

Chef Aarti Sequeira shares a very different recipe here:  Creamy Pistachio Pops.

CPP

 

ORANGE CREAM ICE POPS

This one is slightly different. It’s more like a traditional icy popsicle, and it makes a refreshing change from the creamier desserts. Simply prepare 1 small package of orange gelatin (3 ounces) as directed. Add in a cup of vanilla yogurt and whisk until smooth. Add 1 tablespoon light corn syrup, and 1 tablespoon orange or vanilla flavoring. Pour into molds and freeze.

Note: I intended to blend in canned mandarin orange segments but forgot! I think the fruit would make these extra tasty. As these freeze, the “creamier” yogurt rose to the top of the mold, making for two slightly different textures in the finished popsicle. 

A similar recipe for “chiffon-textured” pops can be found at the Online Cookbook.

e2e3a-valentine2bdivider

I’ve been adding several different flavor extracts to my pantry, and grabbing new pudding varieties, checking out gelatin flavors, and watching for sales on yogurts. We now have 4 popsicle molds (6 pops each) and I’ve been keeping them filled. I’m planning to buy several different shapes of molds, and I want to try more little treat-making tricks, adding sprinkles, nuts, and maybe even learning to dip frozen treats in chocolate or vanilla coatings.

Be watching for more treats!  If you’ve tried any of my recipes, I’d love to hear your thoughts, and if  you have popsicle/frozen treat recipes of your own, please share!

e2e3a-valentine2bdivider

If you missed my first popsicle post, here’s the link:

What’s For Dinner – Summertime Desserts

e2e3a-valentine2bdivider

SUMMER IS NEARLY GONE…MAKE THE MOST OF IT TODAY!

 

 

 

Author: christinacoleromance

Christina Cole believes in the power of love. She writes romance novels with characters you'll care about and remember long after the end of the story.

Leave a Reply

