Christina Cole Romance

Discover the power of love

Trading Places

2 Comments

Before I get started today with novel-writing, it’s time for another question from my handy Q and A book.  I keep the book here at my writing desk, and each time I get ready to open it, I feel a real sense of excitement.

Many of the questions are thought-provoking. Some are simple; others are very challenging. Some are fun, some are serious, and some are open to a lot of different interpertations. The excitement, of course, comes from facing the unknown. As I sit here looking at that little book with its gilt-edged pages, I have no idea what I’ll find when I open it to today’s date. I hope I like today’s question.

So…today’s question is an intersting one.

Who would you trade places with for just one day?

I think I can have fun with this question. Obviously, it’s not serious. It’s not possible to trade places with others in life, and any answer can be right. I guess the real question is the one behind the answer — the why behind the who.

jcoWhen I read the question, my immediate thought was Joyce Carol Oates. Why? I’ve always admired her for many reasons, not the least of which is her prolificness as a writer. I admire her, too, because I’ve always found it impossible to categorize her. She’s equally at home in many genres, with different lengths, with an assortment of characters.

I’ve read many of her short stories and am always left mouth agape, staring off into space, that sort of what-just-happened sort of feeling. I’ll admit, I don’t always understand her stories, but I recognize the greatness within them.

Trading places with her for just one day would give me a chance to get inside that brilliant mind, and maybe I could return to my own little life with just a smidgeon of that quality that makes Joyce Carol Oates an icon in the literary world.

BTW, my favorite of her short stories is “The Translation“.

pink-divider-no-background-hi

Joyce Carol Oates was my first thought, but then came others. Who wouldn’t enjoy trading places for a day with someone like Bill Gates, Warren Buffet, or another super-wealthy individual? I could have a lot of fun with all the money even in only a single day.

It could be interesting to trade places with a film star or a musician. I’m sure I could learn a lot in twenty-four hours.

Another crazy thought I had was that it could be enlightening to trade places with my husband.

But then, another thought came to mind. What exactly would “trading places” involve? I’m thinking of it in terms of becoming someone else for a day, not merely being me in a different place. The more I think about this little question, the more confused I get.

What would happen if someone else became me for a day? Would I come back to find myself a different person? Would I be forever changed? I maybe not be as brilliant as Joyce Carol Oates. I’m certainly not as rich as Bill Gates, and I’d never really want to be a film star or professional musician. The simple truth is that I like being me. I’ve always been me. I wouldn’t know how to be anybody else.

All the same, it’s a fun question to ponder, don’t you think? Yes, if you could trade places with someone for a day, who would it be?

THANKS FOR DROPPING BY TODAY,

I’ve love to hear  your answer to the question.

I hope you’ll share your thoughts in a comment.

DID YOU KNOW: The “working title” for the 1983  Dan Ackroyd/Eddie Murphy film, Trading Places, was Black or White.
tp
SOURCE: IMDB Trading Places

 

Author: christinacoleromance

Christina Cole believes in the power of love. She writes romance novels with characters you'll care about and remember long after the end of the story.

2 thoughts on “Trading Places

  1. i would swap places with either a musician or a sports star just to see how they do stuff day to day i think it would be awesome.

Leave a Reply

