Christina Cole Romance

Discover the power of love

Getting in the Groove Again

2 Comments

Now, there’s an old-fashioned expression.  “In the groove”. “Groovy”.  For those who weren’t around back in the day, the expressions were popular in the 1960s and 1970s. Yes, those were my days. It’s almost painful to think I ever used the word “groovy”, I did. Funny how we can look back on our mis-spent youth and cringe at times. Oh, yes. Life was groovy back then, or so it seemed.

Groovy

In case you’re wondering, “groovy” was synonymous with cool, excellent, fashionable, amazing, at least, according to Wikipedia.  Groovy – Wikipedia. The article explains:

The word originated in the jazz culture of the 1920s, in which it referred to the “groove” of a piece of music (its rhythm and “feel”), plus the response felt by its listeners. It can also reference the physical groove of a record in which the pick-up needle runs. Recorded use of the word in its slang context has been found dating back to September 30, 1941, on the Fibber McGee and Molly radio show, when band leader Billy Mills used it to describe his summer vacation. In the 1941 song “Let me off Uptown” by Gene Krupa, Anita O’Day invites Roy Eldridge to “… come here Roy and get groovy”. The 1942 film Miss Annie Rooney features a teenage Shirley Temple using the term as she impresses Dickie Moore with her jitterbug moves and knowledge of jive. In the 1945 film A Thousand and One Nights, Phil Silvers uses the term to describe an ostentatiously bejeweled turban.

The word has now disappeared from the language in its colloquial form, except for times and places — like here and now — when somebody uses it to poke a bit of fun at the past. Yeah, it really was groovy, man.

Actually, I’m using the word in a slightly different context today. To get “in the groove” means to “get with it” again, to “start spinning”, and I’m just making matters worse here, aren’t I? What I’m trying to say is that after being off-line for several days while dealing with REAL LIFE, I’m now back at work here in MLWR (My Little Writing Room) and back to my online connections, too.

I probably won’t be spending a great deal of time online though. Over the next two weeks, I’ll be putting the finishing touches on No Regrets, the fourth book of my “Sunset Series”.  I guess I could say I’m getting back “in the groove” there, too. As I near the end of each writing project, my mind and my muse kick over into what I call “get it done” mentality. Instead of playing around, I focus. Instead of jumping around in the story, I concentrate on pulling it together into a coherent timeline. Instead of putting aside “problem spots” with an “I-can-fix-it-later” approach, I go through those spots and resolve each one. I sometimes think of it as similar to a major construction project where the inspector has gone through the building and created a “punch list” of things to be done, re-done, or otherwise fixed up.

So, you might not see me online as much as usual over the next few weeks. When I do emerge, it will be with a completed story sent off to the publisher. Then comes the fun of waiting for cover art, planning the launch party, and sharing the story with western historical romance readers.

And then comes even more fun as I set to work on Book 5. A sheriff wearing skirts? Yep, that’s what’s coming up for the little town of Sunset.  The Sheriff Wore Skirts is currently slated for release in January, 2016. It’s going to be a fun story.

Groovy, huh?

To keep you entertained while you’re waiting for No Regrets, come along with me now for a “blast from the past” and enjoy a few groovy tunes!

Groovy Kind of Love – Wayne Fontana and the Mindbenders

Groovin’ on a Sunday Afternoon – Young Rascals

Feelin’ Groovy – Simon and Garfunkel

 
Author: christinacoleromance

Christina Cole believes in the power of love. She writes romance novels with characters you'll care about and remember long after the end of the story.

2 thoughts on “Getting in the Groove Again

  1. You are groovy mom! 😉
    Great job!

Leave a Reply

