Christina Cole Romance

Discover the power of love

“The Entirety of Information Known to Man”

2 Comments

What a marvelous age we live in! I truly am grateful that I live in this modern era where technology has brought the world literally to our fingertips. At the same time, I do have to laugh each time of think of this very true little fact that appeared in the IPhone “reddit” app and went viral:

“If someone from the 1950s suddenly appeared today, what would be the most difficult thing to explain to them about today?”

“I possess a device, in my pocket, that is capable of accessing the entirety of information known to man. I use it to look at pictures of cats and get in to arguments with strangers.”

Can you relate? I can. Although I’m not inclined to argue online, I definitely enjoy looking at pictures of cats. I love cats. I like sharing pictures of cats.

??????????

So, be forewarned. If you follow me on Facebook or Twitter, or if you’ve followed Christina Cole’s Love Notes — my official author page — you’re going to see pictures of cats.

For now, thought, let’s take a look at the first part of this viral response, the part that has to do with “the entirety of information known to man.” Maybe the internet doesn’t quite cover the entirety of information, but it does offer us a wealth of knowledge. Sure, there’s a wealth of useless knowledge and a lot of misinformation to go along, but that’s a small price to pay, I think, for the convenient access we have to history, science, books, movies, and a host of other helpful sites.

Today, it’s possible to learn a new language through internet sites. We can use Google Earth to travel to places we’ll never have a chance to visit. We keep in touch with family and friends by pressing a few keys on a computer, a tablet, or even a phone.

We use the internet not only for an exchange of ideas, but for goods and services, too. We buy, we sell, we trade, we give. With new “crowd-funding” applications, we can raise money for new ventures or contribute to worthy causes.

The internet’s greatest assest, perhaps, is its speed. In only a fraction of a second, I can find the score from last night’s ball game (Royals beat Angels 4-2), check the weather (45 degrees F. and cloudy), or download that new recipe I put on this week’s menu (Orange Salsa Chicken).

As a writer, I find the availablity of research material a welcome alternative to trips to our local library. I still use the library, but I use it more efficiently now than in the past. I can find books online, request them, and pick them up at the library. I can read on a wide range of topics before I visit the library, then focus my research on specific questions. I can also read reviews of new history books before I check them out. It helps me choose the ones that I’ll most likely find interesting and helpful.

Of course, we also play games through the internet. We watch movies, read books, listen to music, and…well, yes, there are other forms of “internet entertainment” that people do enjoy. I won’t go there. Use your imagination, all right?

And there are dating sites, too. For all sorts of folks looking for all sorts of relationships. I don’t go there either — I’m very happily married to the love of my life — but I know quite a few people who have found their own “special someone” through today’s technology.

How do you use the internet? What are your favorite online pastimes? Are you totally “hooked-up” and “turned-on” or do you still hold on to the vestiges of pre-internet days — landline phones, snail mail, photograph albums, CDs, newspapers, and magazines, to name a few?

Of course, we all know the best part of the internet will always be looking at cute cats. But what else do you do online? BTW, have you ordered your starter kit yet? No assembly required!

sTARTER 2

 

 

THANKS for visiting today!



DID YOU KNOW: The technical term for a “hairball” is “bezoar”. BE WATCHING FOR MORE FUN FACTS! 

 

 

 

Author: christinacoleromance

Christina Cole believes in the power of love. She writes romance novels with characters you'll care about and remember long after the end of the story.

2 thoughts on ““The Entirety of Information Known to Man”

  1. You’ve spoken my mind, from the kitties to the summary of how useful the internet can be. 🙂
    As for me, I love the internet despite all the glitches and new ways to hurt people – simply because my job – being a content writer – wouldn’t be possible without it, and because my hobby – being a self-published romance novelist – would be more difficult without it.

Leave a Reply

