Christina Cole Romance

Discover the power of love

Oops!

10 Comments

393880-grocery-bag-clip-artI do my grocery shopping on Friday mornings…very, very early on Friday mornings. We have a Wal-Mart “supercenter” nearby, and it’s open 24 hours. My husband and I both enjoy shopping when the aisles aren’t crowded.

Apparently, in some respects, I’m a bit of an oddity. When I go shopping, I have a list. Not only do I make out a shopping list, I also plan my meals in advance. Recently on NPR, I heard a report that at 4 in the afternoon, 80% of Americans have no idea what they’re going to have for dinner.

That sounds hard to believe, but maybe it’s true. I made an informal survey among my friends, and incredibly, 3 out of 4 said they had no idea what they were going to have for dinner.

Seriously? I can’t imagine not knowing. How do these people do their grocery shopping?

I did do a little Googling to try to find a link to the NPR report, but my Googling skills aren’t so great. I didn’t find anything, so I have nothing to back up the statistics other than my memory and my own informal survey.

Let me ask you the same question: DO YOU KNOW WHAT YOU’RE GOING TO HAVE FOR DINNER?

I would LOVE to hear your replies. This topic has totally boggled my mind, you see. I can’t fathom how anyone can function without menu plans and shopping lists.

My method, FWIW, is to keep a small notepad and pencil on the side of the refrigerator. Whenever we run low on something, we jot it down on the list. Then, on Thursday, I plan my week’s menus, make out the shopping list, and add whatever items we need from the “refrigerator” list. It works. At least, it works for me.

As usual, however, I’m digressing. I’m rambling on about one thing before I get to the actual topic of this post. It’s that little “OOPS” up there. You’re probably wondering what it has to do with groceries and menu planning.

Not a lot, to be honest.

Today’s actual topic is forgetfulness. Aha! Now, you might be sensing the connection.

After getting home with my groceries and getting most of them them put away, I came into MLWR (my little writing room) and sat down. I keep my cellphone nearby since my husband  — my honey bunny — always calls from work each morning. I’d texted him to let him know I was home with the groceries, and that’s when I remembered what I’d forgotten.

A birthday card. His father turns 78 next week, and we’ll be going down to the farm tomorrow. I’d intended to pick up a card, but, you guessed it. I neglected to write it down. I never once thought of it.

When I sat down here in MLWR, I reached for my little Question and Answer book. It’s been a few days since I’ve addressed one of the daily questions, and oddly enough, I had this strange premonition that it would scold me for my forgetfulness.

“What did you forget today!”

That was the question I expected. What I found was a bit different yet still similar. The actual question for today is a fill-in-the-blank exercise.

A chore your ignored today was ________________________.

I haven’t ignored anything, unless you want to count the little shopping items I haven’t yet put away. Everything that goes in the refrigerator got put away. It’s just a few things — the oatmeal, the bread, the beans — that are still sitting out on the counter. I’ll put them away.

But I did forget to buy a birthday card. And I forgot to stop at the gas station on the way home. I meant to do that.

Maybe I’ve become too dependent on my shopping lists. (I also keep a list for household items we need and make a once-a-month shopping trip for those items — things like paper towels, detergent, soap, shampoo.) Or maybe I’m just getting old and forgetful.

DO YOU USE SHOPPING LISTS?

DO YOU PLAN YOUR MENUS?

Thanks for visiting!



DID YOU KNOW: Chocolate was once used as currency. WATCH FOR MORE FUN FACTS ON FUTURE POSTS!

Author: christinacoleromance

Christina Cole believes in the power of love. She writes romance novels with characters you'll care about and remember long after the end of the story.

10 thoughts on “Oops!

  1. I’m just like you. I always know what I’m having for supper. I have a pad and pen on my fridge to jot down what is needed. I have to go to Wal-Mart early in the morning–can’t handle crowds. And I even write on my list to stop and get stamps, gas, etc. My list yesterday included 2 birthday cards for my twin sons. 🙂

  2. I am sort of like you except I hate shopping and crowds so much we do one big trip a month and perhaps a smaller biweekly one for perishables I do keep that list on a counter in the kitchen as well. As far as knowing what I am cooking that day I try to but my kitchen is as well stocked as most restaurant kitchens so I can be more flexible. I do prefer to know the day ahead since I like to crockpot.

    • You brought up a good point that I left out of the article. If a cook doesn’t plan ahead, how can she be sure foods are ready? Most of the time, I have to take meats out of the freezer the night before to thaw out. I can’t wait until an hour before dinner and decide to cook something that’s frozen. I still can’t imagine not knowing what I was having for dinner LOL… but I guess a lot of people take a “wait and see” attitude about cooking, waiting until they’re hungry and then deciding what they want.

      • I’m with you. I do use my Microwave to defrost at times but I like to know ahead of time.. I just got back from my daughters and they were a eat when you are ready family each grabbing something when hungry. it was crazy. and really overwhelmed me.

      • I think having regular mealtimes is important. Meals should be family time…time to talk about the day, time to give thanks together, time to share thoughts. Of course, a lot of family members don’t always have the same schedules. Life does get hectic at times.

      • so true! I raised them with the sit-down meals. Hubby and I do them now. She lives in a small apartment with no table or room for one so it is hard.

      • Along with cooking, I also love table-setting. I enjoy finding centerpieces, setting out the china and silverware, and trying to make each meal special in some way. If only I had room to store all the sets of dishes I’d like to have. If I could, I’d probably have a dozen different sets.

      • I have so many dishes I ran out of room LOl I store my winter and fall in storage bins I have to close my eyes when I walk past glassware or dishes n stores LOL

      • LOL We are so much alike! I have special Christmas dishes, of course, and “autumn” dishes and “picnic” dishes…and on and on. I love them all. I consider table-setting an art form. I love to just stand at look at the table before a meal. 🙂

Leave a Reply

