Christina Cole Romance

Discover the power of love

Can You Draw a Bird?

4 Comments

OK…can you draw a bird? I can’t. I can’t draw much of anything. Of course, that hasn’t stopped me from trying at different times in my life. I love colors, and every so often I get inspired to try doing a little artwork…which is an odd word for me to use. My art never works.

When I was about 14, I insisted on buying a set of oil paints and a few canvases. Since I can’t actually draw, I tried creating some weird abstract-looking thing, and it might have been all right if one of our dogs hadn’t curled up next to it while it was still drying and smeared the paint everywhere.

Another time, I did become fascinated by birdwatching and by the gorgeous illustrations of birds I’d found in several books. How hard could it be to draw a bird? A lot harder than I thought. Don’t worry. I haven’t saved any of my attempts so I won’t be showing them here.

At the moment, my artistic interest has turned to coloring books. About two months ago, I came across a fascinating book called “Creative Cats”. It’s a coloring book for adults. I quickly ordered two — one for me and one for my cat-loving daughter, Elisabeth.

Creative Cats Coloring Book

cc

Now, I’m looking for gel pens — and a little time — so I can get started coloring a few cats. Which, of course, has nothing to do with drawing birds, so let’s move right on along, shall we?

The reason I’m asking about birds is because today is, yep, you guessed it, “Draw-a-Bird Day”.  I’m doing my part to help out by sharing a few little links.

How to Draw a Bird – Kid’s Art Hub – You Tube

How to Draw a Bird – Step by Step – You Tube

Pen and Ink Drawing Tutorial – How to Draw Birds – You Tube

How to Draw a Bird – Easy Drawings and Sketches

how-to-draw-a-bird06

I’m not even going to attempt it. I’ve decided it’s better for me to enjoy watching birds than trying to draw them. If you’d like to do a bit of bird-watching, too, you might want to check out this site from Cornell University.

All About Birds

WHETHER YOU TRY DRAWING A BIRD OR NOT, I HOPE YOU HAVE A GREAT DAY TODAY. THANKS FOR DROPPING BY!



DID YOU KNOW: The chicken is the closest living relative to the Tyrannosaurus Rex. WATCH FOR MORE FUN FACTS TO COME! 
Author: christinacoleromance

Christina Cole believes in the power of love. She writes romance novels with characters you'll care about and remember long after the end of the story.

4 thoughts on “Can You Draw a Bird?

  1. Oh, that colouring book looks perfect for a cat and colouring lover like me! 😀

  2. I can’t wait to get my new coloring book! Sounds like so much fun! I look forward to coloring with you mom.

Leave a Reply

