Christina Cole Romance

Discover the power of love

Monday: Fun Day

2 Comments

I’m in a silly mood today. OK, so, yes, that happens often. Today, though, for some reason, my mood is sillier than usual. I’ve been hopping around the Internet, playing with a few random idea generators, and they’re always such fun, I can’t keep them to myself.

I discovered random generators one day when posting to one of the Facebook groups I manage. It’s WIP It Up, and it’s a group that promotes friendship, provides motivation, and serves to encourage writers from all genres and all skill levels as with make our ways through our WIP — which, you probably already know — means “Works in Progress”.

If you’re interested in checking out the group and joining in, here’s the link:

WIP It Up!

The group’s activity is a bit sporadic. When my schedule is light and I have lots of time, I enjoy posting in the group every day. But then, when I’m facing a deadline or when family obligations arise, I don’t always have time to do the necessary research for items and information to post. All members, of course, are encouraged to post excerpts, motivational quotes, or to start discussions on writing-related topics. It’s a closed group, so only members can will what is posted, and if you’re interested in joining, please visit the page and leave a request.

But, back to my silliness. Those random generators. There are, I’ve discovered, random writing generators for just about every aspect of story-telling. Need a basic idea? Sure. Turn on the generator. Just looking for a character or two? No problem. Need an entire plot? Heck, yes!

Consider this little jewel I spun up on a generator this morning:

An heroic little old lady has 24 hours to transport – across enemy territory – a run down farm.

Sounds like compelling drama to me! I haven’t quite figured out the logistics involved in moving an entire farm, but maybe she just needs to move the animals. In fact, there was an actual rescue operation to save the beautiful white Lippazaner breed during the last days of World War II. A 1963 film was based on the event:

The Miracle of the White Stallions

lipizzaner

So maybe the story idea from that little plot generator isn’t quite as crazy as it sounds. That’s how ideas work a lot of times. We can start with something totally off-the-wall, play around with it, explore different possibilities, and suddenly, a real idea emerges.

If you’d like to try generating an idea of your own, here’s the link:

Writer’s Plot Idea Generator

This is only one of many sites offering writing generators. A few others you might have fun with are:

Plot Generator

Seventh Sanctum Story Generator

Genre, Plot, and Story Prompt Generators

Random Story Generator

So, now that I’ve played around a bit this morning and have had a laugh or two, it’s time for me to get busy on my own WIP. But before I bid you farewell, I have one more little generator to share. It never fails to make me smile. A few clicks, and I’m laughing. Enjoy!

Random Logline Generator

THANKS FOR DROPPING BY TODAY!


DID YOU KNOW…In ancient Egypt, servants were smeared with honey in order to attract flies away from the pharaoh. 
Author: christinacoleromance

Christina Cole believes in the power of love. She writes romance novels with characters you'll care about and remember long after the end of the story.

2 thoughts on “Monday: Fun Day

  1. Stuff like that can keep me entertained for hours… and as much fun as it is, it’s also slightly frustrating because I end up with a million ideas and no time to follow through. *lol*

Leave a Reply

