Christina Cole Romance

Discover the power of love

Original or Remix?

5 Comments

Yep. I’ve got the “Questions and Answers” book in my hand. I’m sitting here, blinking, thinking, and trying to come up with an answer for today.

Are you the original or the remix?

Why?

First, let’s start by admitting one simple fact. I’m old. Although I try to keep up with today’s technology and jargon, so many concepts and ideas and new words are being flung around each day that I don’t think anyone can keep up.

For what it’s worth, I was “tweeting” long before most of my friends even knew what “Twitter” was, and I was playing around online and “surfing the internet” before my children were. But while I might have had a bit of a head start on the computer age, the world has caught up, gone around, and left me in the dust.

My point? Uh…what, exactly is a remix?

I “googled” that question, and I was pleased to see that I’m not the only one who’s asked.

What is a remix, exactly?

Video artist, Elisa Kreisinger — please, take a moment to check out her blog — explains it as follows:

IMO, A remix is made when separate media elements are joined to form a new, different piece of media with an entirely different meaning than the original. 

She has much more to say on the topic, and it’s definitely worth reading, so again, please, take a moment to check out her blog.

Of course, what would the internet and our modern world be without Wikipedia? Never mind. That was a rhetorical question. You don’t have to answer. FWIW, I checked the Wikipedia definition of “remix”, too.

A remix is a piece of media which has been altered from its original state by adding, removing, and/or changing pieces of the item. A song, piece of artwork, book, video, or photograph can all be remixes. The only characteristic of a remix is that it appropriates and changes other materials to create something new.

From Wikipedia – Remix

So, what about ME? Am I the original, or am I a remix? After reading the Wikipedia definition, I might be inclined to say I’m a remix, at least in part. I’ve certainly been altered from my original state. I’ve had eyeglasses added to correct my vision, my appendix is gone, and I’ve changed my haircolor a time or two. Yet, reading on, I don’t think I can say that I’ve appropriated anything, nor have I created anything new. As I said before, yes, I’m old.

And, when it comes down to it, I’m still the same old ME I’ve always been. Somehow, it seems that no matter how much I change, I still remain who I’ve always been. I still have the same likes and dislikes I’ve had since I was a child. I wrote my first story at age four, and all these years later, I’m still writing stories. I still enjoy music and dancing. I have fun with crayons and finger-painting. I dabble in photography and sleep with stuffed puppies on the bed. Yeah, I’m still the same, just older, and maybe wiser.

I haven’t changed so much as I’ve grown.

Where my knowledge of classical music was once limited to Peter and the Wolf, The Barber of Seville, and Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony, today I enjoy the works of composers from medieval times through the modern era.

the-child-s-bath-2Once upon a time, I knew little more about famous artworks than La Gioconda and Mary Cassat’s work, The Child’s Bath.  When I was about three or four, I had a puzzle of that painting. I loved taking it apart and putting it together every night.

That’s another thing that hasn’t changed. I still love working puzzles. I still love board games. I still have fun taking walks in the park, picking up pretty rocks, and I’ll never outgrow my love of cats, dogs, and horses.

So, yes, I’m an old “original” — and the best part of that is in the fact that being an “original” means more than being old. It means being unique, being different. It means being ME.



Are YOU the original or the remix?

Why?



Author: christinacoleromance

Christina Cole believes in the power of love. She writes romance novels with characters you'll care about and remember long after the end of the story.

5 thoughts on “Original or Remix?

  1. I would have to say in this day and age, we’re all a little bit of a remix as most of us are altered in some way. And yes, even how we think has been changed over the years because I’ve grown as a person.

    Great post, Christina.

  2. Great post-Christina. I think like you I would be an old Original. my body may have altered but I pretty much dance to my own beat so original it is.My Mom always said there is only one me. LOL

Leave a Reply

