Christina Cole Romance

Discover the power of love

Join Me for a Valentine’s Day Project!

Leave a comment

I love candles, don’t you? Although we no longer depend on candles to provide lighting for our homes, I’d be willing to wager that most of us have a good supply of them on hand, either for emergency situations (such as dreadful blizzards when power goes out), for decor, or for romantic moments.

Candlelight dinner

Yes, when we think of romance, we think of candlelight.

Candles are used as part of many religious and spiritual traditions, as well. They bring light, they bring warmth, they bring peace. Candles also bring beauty, joy, and, of course, love.

The National Candle Association (NCA) says it best:

Candles have come a long way since their initial use. Although no longer man’s major source of light, they continue to grow in popularity and use. Today, candles symbolize celebration, mark romance, soothe the senses, define ceremony, and accent home decors — casting a warm and lovely glow for all to enjoy.

candle-light

 

I’ve never tried candle-making…yet. Ah, there’s the operative word. Yes, I want to try it. Yes, I’m going to do it. Yes, I’m inviting you to try it, too.

I’ve long wanted to learn the art of candle-making, but I was always a bit intimidated by memories of my mother and her candles. I don’t remember when and how she became interested in the hobby, but she began making simple candles. At first. My mother was an extremely creative individual, and when something sparked her interest, her curiosity and her enthusiasm knew no bounds. Soon, her kitchen was filled with molds and waxes, wicks, oils, and additives. Each new candle-making project became more intricate than the one before. The results were magnificient.

Knowing I could never make such beautiful creations, I shied away from even attempting it. Whatever I might manage to make would fall far short of her incredibly beautiful works of art.

Candle Light 006

Mama’s been gone for many, many years now. I don’t know whatever happened to all of her candle-making supplies. Even though the memory of her exquisite candles sometimes inspires me, most of the time I still feel that my efforts would never measure up to hers.

But, I know, too, that I don’t have to “measure up”.  Instead of comparing my efforts with hers — or with anybody else’s candle-making skills — I can gather up my own supplies, do my best, and feel satisfied with my own creation.

So…here’s the project!

finished-heart-pillar

I found this adorable Valentine’s Day candle project at Lonestar Candle Supply. They’re located in Texas, and will ship throughout the US and Canada. Of course, most candle-making supplies are also available at craft stories.

Making this heart-shaped candle is “easy” and “fun” — according to the project instructions. Best of all, the same instructions can be followed to create candles for other holidays. The trick is using cookie cutters.

Candle heart

 

Valentine’s Day is a little more than two weeks away, so that gives us time to find supplies, read through the directions, and give it a try! I’ll be inviting my daughters to share an afternoon of candle-making with me, and on Valentine’s Day, I’ll post pictures of the results.

I’m inviting YOU, too.

 

If candle-making looks like something you might be interested in trying, please do join in the fun. Imagine the joy of having a special, romantic occasion for Valentine’s Day…complete with your own home-made Valentine’s candle. And what better way to say “I love you” than to share a candle you’ve made with someone special.

Click HERE for the complete instructions.

 

quote-just-as-one-candle-lights-another-and-can-light-thousands-of-other-candles-so-one-heart-leo-tolstoy-273413

 



I’d also like to invite each of you to visit Gratefulness.org to light a candle.

Together we can bring light and love into the world.

flicker120x60eng

 

Author: christinacoleromance

Christina Cole believes in the power of love. She writes romance novels with characters you'll care about and remember long after the end of the story.

Leave a Reply

