Christina Cole Romance

Discover the power of love

A Few Thoughts on Love

2 Comments

There is no greater glory than love…

So writes the Spanish poet, Lope de Vega. I borrowed this inspiring thought and used it as a part of my most recent historical romance, He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not.  I came across the quote as I was researching thoughts on love.

I found many other wondrous quotes, and today I’ll be sharing a few of my favorites.

Hearts

When love is not madness, it is not love.  ~ Pedro Calderon de la Barca

Ah me! Love cannot be cured by herbs.  ~ Ovid

We loved with a love that was more than love.  ~ Edgar Allan Poe

Who, being loved, is poor?  ~ Oscar Wilde

As soon go kindle fire with snow, as seek to quench the fire of love with words.  ~ William Shakespeare

I love thee to the depth and breadth and height my soul can reach.  ~ Elizabeth Barrett Browning

Hearts

I’d like to share, too, one of my favorite love poems. It’s by Christina Rossetti, an English poet from the Victorian era. She lived from 1830 to 1894.

 

I Loved You First

I loved you first: but afterwards your love
    Outsoaring mine, sang such a loftier song
As drowned the friendly cooings of my dove.
    Which owes the other most? my love was long,
    And yours one moment seemed to wax more strong;
I loved and guessed at you, you construed me
And loved me for what might or might not be –
    Nay, weights and measures do us both a wrong.
For verily love knows not ‘mine’ or ‘thine;’
    With separate ‘I’ and ‘thou’ free love has done,
         For one is both and both are one in love:
Rich love knows nought of ‘thine that is not mine;’
         Both have the strength and both the length thereof,
Both of us, of the love which makes us one.
Hearts
I hope these thoughts of love might brighten your day today and inspire you to share a little love with others. Mother Teresa said it best, perhaps:

Spread love everywhere you go.

Let no one ever come to you without leaving happier. 


Thank you for visiting today and allowing me to share a little love with you.
I hope you’ll take a moment to say “Hello” and let me know you were here.

– Christina –

 

Author: christinacoleromance

Christina Cole believes in the power of love. She writes romance novels with characters you'll care about and remember long after the end of the story.

2 thoughts on “A Few Thoughts on Love

  1. Oh, what a wonderful post! 🙂 Love speaks to the romance writer in me like hardly anything else does. I have always liked the quote by Elizabeth Barrett Browning, but I didn’t know that lovely poem you also shared.
    As for me, I am a huge fan of what the poet Rumi has to say about love. Here’s one quote I’d like to share:
    “The minute I heard my first love story, I started looking for you, not knowing how blind that was. Lovers don’t finally meet somewhere. They’re in each other all along.”

Leave a Reply

