Christina Cole Romance

Discover the power of love

Making a Little Magic…and Having a Lot of Fun

2 Comments

I love browsing around, finding new sites, and discovering off-the-beaten-path ideas…especially if they involve the sense of smell. I love essential oils. I love mixing them together, trying unique combinations, and adding them to my bath. I also enjoy using them to create my own perfume fragrances.

Perfume-making, I’ve learned over the years, can be as simple or as complicated as you choose to make it. Those who are interested might enjoy browing around many of the internet groups such as Fragantica and Basenotes. Both sites have user forums where you can join in, ask questions, and learn more about perfumery than you probably ever wanted to know.

Or, you can just throw together a little of this, some of that, and have a good time doing it.

But, I digress. My browsing today actually took me off on a slightly different tangent. Magic. I’ve always wanted to believe magic exists, and maybe a lot depends on how we define it. No, I don’t believe beautiful women can be cut in half and miraculously put back together, and I know that David Copperfield didn’t really make the Statue of Liberty vanish. All the same, I love watching a good stage magician perform illusions.

That’s not the sort of magic I’m thinking about, though. I’m thinking more along the lines of simple little magical tools, things some people might call lucky charms or even superstitions. Ever heard of a football fan wearing the same dirty jersey to every game? Maybe you’ve even done it. Of course, you’ve surely known people who’ve carried a lucky rabbit’s foot or a precious four-leaf clover.  Maybe you have amulets or talismen of your own, little tokens that, in some way, can give you an “edge” when you need it.

Now that I’ve jumped around from one topic to another and probably have you thoroughly confused, let me dive straight to the point. Magic. Magic spells. Very fragrant magic spells.

I stumbled across a few very intriguing magic spells this morning, such as this “Love and Loyalty” spell which is designed to attract romantic suitors — and keep them faithful. Mix together the following essential oils: sandalwood, patchouli, rose, and jasmine. Anoint yourself with the oil once each week.

Now, nowhere have I found any “recipe” telling how much of which essential oils to use, and maybe it doesn’t matter. I do know from simply reading the list that this would make a wonderful fragrance. I think later this morning I’ll grab my oils, mix up this combination, and add it to a sea-salt base. It would be lovely for bath-time.

Another interesting concoction is for good health. It  uses rosemary, juniper, and sandalwood. Or, if you’re looking for more personal power, try orange, ginger, and pine.

One more. This one is said to be extremely potent, so perhaps I should add a disclaimer here and say, “Wear at your own risk.” If you’re looking to win the heart of someone special, mix together this powerful perfume brew: patchouli, sandalwood, rose, clove, nutmeg, and olive oil. Wear it whenever you’re near the object of your affections.

Do any of these magic potions work? Maybe. Maybe not. Does it matter? If the end result is a beautiful, enchanting fragrance, that’s enough to make me happy.

Oh, while browsing around…I did find one other rather, uh, interesting little spell. It’s not something I’ll be trying, but for those who might be interested, here it is.

Bigger Boob Spell

To enlarge your breasts, think about the blood flowing through your body.

Let your energy spew out of your finger tips around your boobs.

It will make them bigger.

Magic Potions



All joking aside, playing with fragrances — whether for mystical, magical purposes or simply for the pleasure of perfumery — is a fascinating hobby.  There are many suppliers available offering everything you need to get started, including “how to” instructions.

How To Make Your Own Perfume – Instructables

Make Your Own Perfume – Wiki How

Make Perfume with Essential Oils – Mother Earth News

Yes, the first time my daughter and I made perfume, we used Everclear. We’ve since “graduated” to using real perfumer’s alcohol.  The following are some of the suppliers we’ve used:

Creating Perfume

Perfumer’s Apprentice

Sun’s Eye Pure Oils



I guess I’ve had enough browsing fun this morning. Time to get a bit of writing done, and then I’ll concoct a new bath salt fragrance — who knows what it will be — and have myself a relaxing soak.

That’s the best part of playing around with scents…whether they possess any special powers or not, they sure give a lot of fragrant pleasure.

Oh, one other thing…about David Copperfield and that disappearing Statue of Liberty…

How Did He Do It?

Author: christinacoleromance

Christina Cole believes in the power of love. She writes romance novels with characters you'll care about and remember long after the end of the story.

2 thoughts on “Making a Little Magic…and Having a Lot of Fun

  1. What a wonderful post, Christina! You’re such an inquiring soul, ever on the quest for new knowledge and ready for experiments. 🙂 Of course that’s part of what makes you such a great writer and awesome friend.
    And by the way, I believe in magic.

Leave a Reply

