Christina Cole Romance

Discover the power of love

Oh, The Places You’ll Go!

2 Comments

oh-the-places-youll-goI think most of us are familiar with those famous words of Dr. Seuss. I’ve quoted them many times with friends, children, grand-children, and even with the littlest great-grand. Those words have a magical quality about them. Yes, there are many places we might choose to go.

But, to tell the truth, I’m a home-body. Given a choice between staying home and going out — even for an afternoon — I’ll opt for sitting here in MLWR (My Little Writing Room) entertaining myself with stories, games, and chats with online friends.

Nope, I’m not much of a traveler.

It’s not that there aren’t places I’d like to go. It’s just that the whole business of packing up, re-arranging schedules, attending to financial matters, and all the rest of the “must-do” things that are part of every trip make me stop and reconsider whether or not I really want to go. Most of the time, the answer is “no”.

I do most of my “traveling” in my imagination, and for me, it works. I have so many resources available! I can sit here and browse the internet…oh, how about a trip to Yosemite? Brrrr!  Maybe a bit too cold this time of year.

Yosemite

 

 

Let’s head to a warmer clime. Miami, anyone? Ah, yes. Let me close my eyes, lean back, and feel that lovely sunshine.

Miami_Winter

 

Besides the internet, there’s the “Travel Channel”, lots of books — both fiction and non-fiction — and gorgeous, full-color brochures available from Chambers of Commerce through the country.

I can even go jet-setting around the globe without leaving my chair. What a wonderful way to travel!

Yes, I miss out on a lot of things. Writers’ retreats would probably be fun, and definitely I’d enjoy visiting with friends. It would be great to head to Sri Lanka to spend a little time with one of my favorite authors, Devika Fernando, and wouldn’t I love to head “down under” now to enjoy the summer weather with my IWW buddy, Bernadette Bannister in Melbourne.

As a lover of American history, I can name dozens of sites I’d like to visit. Jumonville Glen, Washington DC, the battlefield at Gettysburg are only a few of the places that come quickly to mind.

travelingOh, yes, the places I could go, if only I were a traveler.

I’m not. So…send me a postcard and wish I were there with you.

Happy traveling!

 

 

 

 

 

Where would you most like to go?

Author: christinacoleromance

Christina Cole believes in the power of love. She writes romance novels with characters you'll care about and remember long after the end of the story.

2 thoughts on “Oh, The Places You’ll Go!

  1. Ah, once again we think alike. I catch myself again and again dreaming of traveling the world. And then I shake my head and murmur to myself that I’m much better of with the ‘virtual traveling’ i constantly do. Be it for my German article writing business or for my English romance novels, I get to visit so many different places in my head and on the internet that I feel like a home-stay globe-trotter. 😉
    As for the places I COULD go, I’d definitely make it to Canada and the USA, and I’ve always wanted to visit Australia. And how could I forget Ireland, Scotland and England?

    • I think one reason why I prefer virtual traveling is because I don’t feel rushed. If I were to go traveling, I’d want to have time to fully experience a country, to see all the sites and not feel as though I were hurrying to fit everything in all at once. If I could go somewhere, settle in, and stay for a few months…that I could handle, I think.

Leave a Reply

