Christina Cole Romance

Discover the power of love

Winter is Here

Leave a comment

In the northern hemisphere, the winter season officially began on December 21, a few days before Christmas. Today, it’s January 9. We’ve had only 19 days of winter, and for me that’s at least 18 days too many.

I don’t like winter.

I don’t like snow.

I don’t like ice.

I don’t like cold, miserable weather with wind chills dipping into double-digits below zero.

Here in the midwest, we’ve actually been fairly lucky. Only a light dusting of snow and very little ice have come our way. I shudder to think of friends and family in Minnesota where wind chills can be as low as fifty below, and my sympathies go out to the folks in Buffalo who’ve dealt with feet of “lake effect” snowfall.

This morning, the temperature here in Harrisonville has warmed up to a balmy 13 degrees Fahrenheit, a considerable improvement over the last two days, but not enough to tempt me to venture outside. I have places I’d like to go, shopping that I should probably do, and friends I would enjoy visiting. But…well, I think I’ll just throw a blanket over my lap, sip on a cup of hot chocolate, and stay inside.

To put myself in a better frame of mind, I went browsing today for funny thoughts about winter. I found a lot of cold weather cartoons, but nothing that made me laugh out loud.  I did smile at this one:

tired-of-snow

 

Winter, of course, is beautiful. I’ve even put together a gorgeous collection of wintry pictures on Pinterest.  If you’d like to see it, please, click to enjoy Winter Beauty.

All in all, I think it’s obvious that I really don’t like winter at all — except from the perspective of a warm, cozy home. Still, winter has inspiration for us. It’s a reminder that hardships make us better able to appreciate our blessings. Adversity prepares us to celebrate our triumphs. Winter’s cold makes springtime’s sunshine even more welcome.

I found this lovely bit of wisdom, and as I shiver through the next few months, I’m going to keep these thoughts in mind. Maybe you’ll do the same.

roberts-bradstreet-winter

Stay warm, friends!

 

Author: christinacoleromance

Christina Cole believes in the power of love. She writes romance novels with characters you'll care about and remember long after the end of the story.

Leave a Reply

