Christina Cole Romance

Discover the power of love

Enough!

Leave a comment

Lately, as always happens when a new year begins, I’ve been hearing a lot about RESOLUTIONS: how to to make them, how to keep them, and what to do when you break them. Maybe there are some people who are good at making and keeping New Year’s resolutions, but judging from all I’ve heard and read, most of us aren’t.

2015 Picture

 

One interesting approach that I’ve noticed lately is to forego resolutions in favor of meaningful phrases or keywords, sort of like a “thought for the year”.  There are lots of good ones from which to choose.

DO IT NOW

YES, I CAN

GO FOR IT

Or maybe you prefer something with a bit more substance, such as reminders that today is the first day of the rest of your life, or the counsel that the New Year is like a book with 365 blank pages and it’s up to you to fill those pages wisely.

Or perhaps, like me, you’re more intrigued by the possibilities of a single word. Although at first thought it might seem that choosing only one word would be very limiting, it’s not.  We’re told that a picture can speak a thousand words, but conversely, one little word can be used in thousands of ways. Even the smallest words have power.

The word I’ve chosen for this year is ENOUGH.

Enough

Have I made it big ENOUGH?

We all know what it means, but think about how many different ways we can view the concepts it represents.

For me, ENOUGH will serve as a valuable reminder to watch myself when it comes to collectibles. We’ve all heard that junk will expand to the amount of available space. Unfortunately, in my home, it doesn’t stop there. It keeps expanding until it’s pouring out of every closet, drawer, and cupboard of the house. I have to remember that I have enough CDs, enough romance novels, enough games, enough history books, enough dishes. It’s difficult, but what I have to learn is that space is finite, and if I want to buy more, I need to eliminate what’s old and no longer used. I can’t hold on to everything.

ENOUGH will also remind me to manage my time effectively. Like shelf space, personal time is limited. We’re each given twenty-four hours in a day. Taking on too many tasks, scheduling too many things on my to-do lists, and trying to work on too many projects at once is a sure recipe for stress and failure. This year, I want to remember that I can only do so much, and I need to draw lines when I have enough to do.

Most of all, ENOUGH is a beautiful way to remember my own worth and the blessings I have in my life. I don’t have it all, but I have more than enough to be happy. I have enough, I do enough, I’m good enough.

gOOD eNOUGH

I like the word I’ve chosen to live by in 2015. I believe it can guide me toward making better choices, can inspire me to reach beyond my limitations, and can bring me feelings of joy and peace as I come to the end of each day.

What word could inspire you to make the most of 2015?

Author: christinacoleromance

Christina Cole believes in the power of love. She writes romance novels with characters you'll care about and remember long after the end of the story.

Leave a Reply

