Christina Cole Romance

Discover the power of love

Peek-a-Boo!

8 Comments

I’m wrapping up “Keeping Faith”, getting it ready to send off to the publisher. Although I’ve shared several different excerpts from the story in previous “Sneak Peeks”, I haven’t yet introduced readers to one of the central characters.

              Faith.

Faith Arrives

She arrives, unnamed, as a squalling 3-month old infant, brought to Sunset by Miss Edith Christensen from the Children’s Foundling Home in Denver. The prim, proper, old spinster quickly realizes that cowboy Tom Henderson  has no way to care for a baby.

Enjoy the excerpt!

 

* * * *

“Excuse me, Mr. Henderson.”  Edith Christensen’s nasally voice grated on Tom’s nerves. “I have to leave now. It’s a long trip back to Denver. You need to give me the child.”

“Not yet, ma’am. She’s my niece. I want a little time with her.” He stroked one soft, pink cheek and was rewarded with a gurgling, cooing smile. “She likes me,” he said, glancing toward Lucille.

And he liked her. No, he loved her. This precious life wrapped in a thick gray blanket was kin. Not his own child, but a child who shared his blood, all the same. She was Sally’s daughter, and Sally was gone now. This sweet, nameless angel was all that was left to him of his sister’s kindness, her goodness, her own innocence.

He wished he could have taken better care of Sally, could have helped her, given her all she needed, but he’d failed her. Too young, too mixed-up, and too bitter about his own life, Tom hadn’t been able to save Sally from the wretched evils of their childhood.

But he’d damned sure save this baby.

“I’m not giving her back,” he said in a quiet voice. “I’m going to keep her.”

* * *

And so begins to the struggle of “Keeping Faith”. I look forward to sharing the story with you and will keep everyone posted on the final release date, currently scheduled for July 2014.

 

 

* * * *

Thanks for visiting today!

I hope you’ve enjoyed this little “sneak peek” from

Keeping Faith

* * * *

Sneak Peek Sunday Banner

For more “sneak peeks” click here.

 

Author: christinacoleromance

Christina Cole believes in the power of love. She writes romance novels with characters you'll care about and remember long after the end of the story.

8 thoughts on “Peek-a-Boo!

  1. I love that he’s stepped up to take the baby. He probably doesn’t know what that will involved, but I have faith he’ll do his very best to do right by the child. Enjoyed the snippet. 🙂

  2. I want to read this! And that crying baby is adorable (only because there’s no sound).

  3. Nice excerpt. I’m reading “Not the Marrying Kind” right now. Really enjoying it.

  4. Aw, how sweet! What a lucky baby to have such a good uncle 🙂

Leave a Reply

