Christina Cole Romance

Discover the power of love

A “Sneak Peek” Sunday

5 Comments

I’ve always loved “sneak peeks” of writing. It’s fun to visit other authors and see what stories they’re working on, and it’s always exciting to share a bit of my own writing.

In the past, I took part in a number of weekly blog activities. Unfortunately my busy schedule no longer allows me to participate regularly, but I am hoping to put in an appearance from time to time.

Today, I’m sharing a little peek at a scene from “Keeping Faith”, the second book in “The Sunset Series”. These are stories about life and love in the fictional town of Sunset, Colorado. The first in the series, “Not the Marrying Kind” was published in January 2014.

 GavelSNEAK PEEK FROM: “KEEPING FAITH”

“The welfare of a child is not something to be taken lightly. It’s a very serious matter, and I trust everyone here understands the importance of making a wise decision. I’ve given it a great deal of thought, and in my opinion…”

Judge Morse paused and cleared his throat.  Over the tops of his spectacles he looked at the three people seated before him. His mouth had tightened, Tom saw, as if he worried that his decision would not be appreciated.

“…although the petition is well-intended and there are certain benefits that might ensue if I were to grant it, I firmly believe that blood must be my most important consideration in this matter. For that reason, I’m refusing to consider the petition. The child belongs with her kin.”

Beside him, Tom heard Lucille’s gasp of surprise and dismay.  He stared at Judge Morse, feeling as if the man had punched him in the gut.  In a moment he realized his mouth was hanging open and closed it.

Never in a million years had he expected this.

“Is this some sort of joke?” he demanded.

* * * * *

KEEPING FAITH is scheduled for publication later this year from

Secret Cravings Publishing

* * * * *

For more SNEAK PEEK SUNDAY

Click HERE

Sneak Peek Sunday Banner

Author: christinacoleromance

Christina Cole believes in the power of love. She writes romance novels with characters you'll care about and remember long after the end of the story.

5 thoughts on “A “Sneak Peek” Sunday

  1. I`m looking forward to reading this one!

  2. Great excerpt. I want to know more.

    • Thanks for dropping by, Diane. I’ll be posting more from “Keeping Faith” on future “Sneak Peek” Sundays, as well as occasional excerpts from “Not the Marrying Kind” — the first book in the series.

Leave a Reply

